As the old saying goes, the only two certainties in life are death and taxes. (I tried to look up who should be quoted for this but Google was giving me inconclusive answers – Benjamin Franklin, Mark Twain, Edward Ward, and Christopher Bullock. So if anyone knows, please share!).

In all my years working as an accountant I don’t think I’ve ever come across a client who was happy to pay taxes. I guess that makes sense to an extent – you work hard to make your money and you don’t want to part with it. And while I admit that our tax system has much to improve on, we still need people to pay tax to fund hospitals, roads, schools, and welfare for those less fortunate. Rather than grudgingly paying taxes, shouldn’t we think of the positives (I’m mainly talking about businesses here)? You’re paying tax which means that you’re making money which means that your business must be doing something right. Plus, if you have a good accountant, they should be structuring your affairs in the most tax effective way to make sure you’re not overpaying tax.

I think I have mentioned to a few of you that I have waaay too much work left and not enough time to finish it. As expected, I’m not going to make tomorrow’s deadline for a few of our clients (but that’s what happens when you’ve been chasing up clients for about seven months and they give it to you the week before they are due)… I knew it was going to be a stressful week but something I wasnt expecting was to enjoy the stress. It has probably been one of the most enjoyable and productive weeks I’ve had at work in quite a while. Ever since I’ve gotten back from Singapore it’s been a bit of a struggle to get to work on time each morning and enjoy what I do, but this week has been different. There’s been an element of stress but it’s just the right amount to give me a kick up the bum and get going. In fact, last week was so good, I’m actually really excited for work tomorrow.

I hope you all have a splendid week ahead and are looking forward to it as much as me!

Also, thank you to Rโšฝ for setting this blog up!

H๐Ÿ

8 thoughts on “Work, work, work

  1. If I were in your situation, I would find it super annoying that people don’t give me their s**t right before the due date. But then if I were the client, I would totally do the same.

    But it’s so good that you’re thriving under the pressure and has gotten you out of your holiday blues! Work isn’t always exciting nor fulfilling but it gives us a degree of financial freedom.

    Like

  2. Hmm I wouldn’t say I’m “happy” to pay taxes, but I’m certainly not opposed to them.

    I think I’ve had a similar slump in my enthusiasm for work. Probably only in the last week or two that I really found my usual energy again. I’m gonna blame the cooler weather and sleep deprivation XD

    Like

    • Glad to hear you’ve got your mojo back as well! I’m loving the cooler weather, I actually walked to the bus the other day rather than driving. Cooler weather also means more chance of foggy mornings which reminds me of Edinburgh and makes me super happy (a little random, I know).

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yay am I the only one who knew you went to Singapore? ๐Ÿ˜›
    Anyway I’m glad the little red dot managed to reinvigorate your energy and enthusiasm for work! ๐Ÿ˜› (ok I won’t attribute it to the holiday lol; just cooler weather!). I reckon a moderate amount of stress is important to push you through the work days and make you work more efficiently ๐Ÿ™‚ so it’s good to hear you’ve found a good balance!

    Like

Leave a Reply

