images

If you haven’t heard of it, “War on Waste” is an ABC documentary about the wasteful habits of Australians. The Chaser comedian, Craig Reucassal hosts the show. Its mission is to highlight Australia’s waste and the sheer scale of how much good food is dumped before it even reaches supermarket shelves was one of the most surprising facts he unearthed.

landfill

Here is a link to the first episode

http://iview.abc.net.au/programs/war-on-waste/DO1624H001S00

Some related articles worth reading:

“War on waste: craig reucassal reveals the shocking truth about our bananas”- http://www.news.com.au/finance/business/retail/war-on-waste-craig-reucassel-reveals-the-shocking-truth-about-our-bananas/news-story/ddd59b65712f4649fc74b3f803520776

“Top tips for reducing water waste around family home” – http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-05-16/top-tips-for-reducing-water-waste-around-family-home/8529384

I think it’s about time someone pointed the pink elephant in the room: we are pretty wasteful as a country.

Part of it is because people are pretty lazy – buying a takeaway coffee/ pizza/ meal is just so easy, you might as well spare the effort of BYO. Part of it is the lack of awareness of the harmful effects these habits have on our planet.

And the truth is, it really doesn’t take that much to change some of those habits.

The Challenge

I challenge you all to:

  • Bring your own bags when you go grocery shopping

grocery bags.png

  • Bring your own coffee cup if you’re a daily coffee drinker

BYO coffee cup

  • Make a conscious effort of eating everything in the fridge and pantry before you go grocery shopping again

Don't buy more than what you need.png

  • Bring your own lunch to work (heck, this is also a money-saving tip!)

byo work lunch.png

Let’s do our little bit to look after our planet. 🙂

6 thoughts on “#War on waste

  1. I was going to write about this (after I watch the episode) too! I’m glad that even as a group here, we’re all trying to consciously make an effort to do our bit.

    I’m already doing all the things you’ve challenged us to do. But I do have a question for all of you – what do you replace the plastic bags that you use as bin liners with if you bring a reusable bag with you to grocery shopping?

    The other thing that gets me thinking and feeling guilty is eating out. I know restaurants create a lot of food waste. I also know that as a group, we all love to try out different restaurants as part of our regular get-togethers. I also know that I tend to get a fair bit of takeaway sometimes because my schedule doesn’t allow me enough time to cook food myself. So the question is, what can we do to address this issue? Part of me thinks that since it’s a business, it should sort itself out in terms of profitability and being efficient with your ingredients. But I also know that there is a crap tonne of people who (unlike us) over-order or don’t finish their meals and that all goes to waste. The other thing I’ve seriously considered is OzHarvest. I personally am still working out the best way to fit this into my schedule but I would strongly recommend anyone who is interested to go check out their website and volunteer your time if you can.

    (Sorry for the incoherent ramble. Love talking about this topic.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • OzHarvest is fantastic – Night café used to use them and they are great.
      Bin-liner- great question, not sure what the answer is just yet. I do have to rely on plastic liners because it gets quite smelly.
      As to cooking food for a busy schedule – perhaps prepare bulk meals over the weekend and freeze them?

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’m guilty of taking plastic bags from the supermarket because I need them for bin liners; however I do admit I have got way too many plastic bags, more than what I actually need for bins! I think that sometimes you may not need to empty the bin out every single day, that’s one way to reduce the need for plastic bag use.

      as for takeaway, I re-use all my takeaway containers until they break. So I will bring it to the restaurant (my own takeaway boxes from earlier takeaways) and bring it back home. It’s not good to microwave using that re-used box but you can empty it onto a plate.

      Nothing we can do about restaurants wasting food though haha.

      Liked by 1 person

    • The bin liner issue is one I’ve thought about too. I’ve seen suggestions about just using newspaper or something, and washing your bins more often. You could also address the root of the problem and look at what sort of waste you’re producing, and see if you can reduce/eliminate this (e.g. not buying products that can’t be composted or recycled). After all, if you don’t have rubbish, bin liners aren’t an issue. Of course, this all sounds very hard to achieve…

      Like

  2. Thanks for sharing! There was a recent news report about the Great Pacific garbage patch that ties in to this. The poor island was littered with plastic garbage.

    Like

Leave a Reply

